News & Finance

Burna Boy Bags New Award

Afrimma 2019 Awards & Music Festival
literally shut down the city of Dallas as a
plethora of African stars and fans descended
on the historic city. It was a night of beauty,
culture and most importantly a celebration of
African music and talents on the world stage
hosted by Basketmouth and Dj Poizon Ivy.
The Afrimma weekend kicked off with the
Demand Africa Presents Afrimma Music Panel
on Friday October 25, with Richard Iroko as
moderator and 2face, SlikkMuzik, KC, Cat
Daddy and Queen Julie Endee amongst others
as panelists.
Shortly after the panel, the Afrimma Fashion
show held with African and International
fashion brands strutting the runway to a
packed house. Saturday, October 26, 2019 all
roads led to The Bomb Factory for a night of
magnificent performances and unforgettable
memories. Some of the African stars on
parade include Fally Ipupa, Ommy Dimpoz,
Lisa Yaro, Daphne and more. Nigerian star
Burna Boy was the biggest winner of the night
bagging four awards Artist of The Year —
Best Male West Africa, Song of the Year with
Zlatan and best collaboration with Zlatan.
Rema took home the Afrimma Video of The
Year Award while Zlatan won Best Newcomer
as well as Best Collaboration and Song of
The Year alongside Burna Boy. Other winners
include, Aya Nakamura – Best Female West
Africa and Ommy Dimpoz – Best Male East
Africa, Akothee from Kenya, Nandy from
Tanzania, Toofan from Togo alongside the
Nigerian duo of Rema, Zlatan as well as
Congolese superstar Fally Ipupa provided
unforgettable performances on a spectacular
AFRIMMA 2019 winners list
Best Female East Africa – Akothee
Best Collaboration – Burna Boy x Zlatan –
Killing Dem
Afrimma Video of The Year – Rema – Dumebi
Best Lusophone – Nelson Freitas
Best New Act – Zlatan
Best Rap Act – Phyno
Best African Group – Toofan
Best Video Director – Sasha Vybz
Best Male Southern Africa – MasterKG
Best Francophone – DJ Arafat
Song of The Year – Burna Boy x Zlatan –
Killin Dem
Best Male Central Africa – Fally Ipupa
Best Male East Africa – Ommy Dimpoz
Artist of The Year- Burna Boy
Radio/TV Personality of the Year -Willy Tuva
Transformational Leadership Award –
Governor Hassan Ali Joho
AFRIMMA Community Leadership Award –
Rep. Helen Giddings
AFRIMMA Community Impact Award – Prince
Ned Nwoko
Best Female West Africa -Aya Nakamura
Best Female Central Africa – Daphne
Best Female Southern Africa – Sho Madjozi
Crossing Boundaries with Music Award –
Best Gospel Artist – Mercy Chinwo
Best Dj Africa – Dj Man Renas
Best African Dj USA – Dj Poison Ivy
Music Producer of The Year – Kel-P
Best African Dancer – Izzie Odigie
Best Live Act – Diamond Platnumz
Best Male West Africa – Burna Boy

Join Our Social Media Community


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button