Why Emi Martinez wasn’t punished for ‘handling ball outside box

handling ball outside box

Following the Saturday FA cup final Post-match fans reactions, here is why the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) didn’t punish Arsenal goalkeeper, Emi Martinez, for handling the ball outside the penalty box, according to UK Mirror reports.

Replay on TV did not show conclusively if Martinez’s hands followed his feet outside the area after Chelsea substitute Tammy Abraham was adamant that the Arsenal shot-stopper had handled a long-ball forward outside the penalty area, which prompted a VAR review.

After a few moments, VAR reached a verdict that will have no doubt come as a major relief to Martinez and his Arsenal teammates, as the replay showed that the Gunners goalkeeper had claimed the ball just inside his 18-yard box, much to the relief of Arteta.

It led to a backlash from Chelsea fans on social media, who were angry over an apparent VAR check.

However, VAR looked at the controversial incident and frozen images showed Martinez did not commit any offence.

It was deemed the ball was on the line, even though Martinez’s feet were outside of the box.

At that stage of the game, Arsenal were 2-1 in front and the Blues had Mateo Kovacic sent off by referee Anthony Taylor for two bookable offences.

Martinez Reaction over handling ball outside the Penalty box

On Instagram, Martinez, sharing a picture of him catching the ball, said: “My best moment at Wembley was catching a Pokemon. #Pikachu.”

Martinez had clearly seen the funny side of the incident, as he reflected on an evening that will live long in his memory.

He had worked incredibly hard to be able to live that moment and it clearly meant everything to him when he broke down in an interview with BBC Sport following the full-time whistle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *